Women of Distinction Awards and Luncheon 2015

OCTOBER 20, 2016
11:30 a.m. – 1:00 p.m.
DECC Harborside Room

The YWCA Women of Distinction Luncheon recognizes and honors women who make significant contributions to our community. Hundreds come together each year to enjoy a lovely sit down lunch, recognize the amazing contributions of these women, hear highlights of the YWCA’s community outreach, network with community colleagues, and contribute to YWCA programs.


This year’s luncheon is guaranteed to be an uplifting, empowering, and exciting event! 2015 Women of Distinction Recipients are (from left to right in the image above) Scherrie Foster, Kelly Burger, and Lee Stuart. Emerging Leader Award Recipient is Hannah Smith.

In addition, this year the YWCA of Duluth is being honored by the National YWCA and the Allstate Foundation as a Purple Purse Recipient! As such, this year’s luncheon is dedicated to the domestic violence education and support services provided by the YWCA. Donations made at the event will be matched through our participation in the Allstate Purple Purse Campaign! Click on the individual listed below for their bio.


2015 Emcee

Kathlynn McConnell, Members Cooperative Credit Union

2015 Keynote Speaker

Dr. Beth Bartlett, University of Minnesota- Duluth

2015 Women of Distinction Award Recipients


Kelly Burger, Center Against Sexual and Domestic Abuse (CASDA)


Scherrie Foster, Fond du Lac Tribal and Community College


Lee Stuart, CHUM

2015 Emerging Leader Award Recipient


Hannah Smith, City of Duluth Indigenous Commission


Previous Women of Distinction
2014- Babette Sandman, Betty Brasgala, Joan Peterson
2013 – Tina Olson, Ann Busche, Mary Lu Larsen
2012 – Mary Asmus, Kris Ridgewell, Tonya Sconiers
2011 – Joycelyn Dorscher, Pam Kramer and Gwen Updegraff
2010 – Jane Maddy, Shannon Miller, and Sharon Witherspoon
2009 – Debby Ortman, Rebecca St. George and Sara Thomsen
2008 – Lyn Clark Pegg, Melanie Ford and LeAnn Littlewolf
2007 – Angie Miller, Susana Pelayo-Woodward and Gail Schoenfelder
2006 – Joyce Benson, Pricilla Day and Tina Welsh
2005 – DeAnna Finifrock, Bev Harries and Mary VanEvera
2004 – Portia Johnson, Carol Person and Jean Sumner

Previous Emerging Leaders
2014- Shunu Shrestha
2013 – Kate Horvath
2012 – Jodi Broadwell
2011 – Elizabeth Olson
2010 – Sarah Priest
2009 – Eleni Johnson
2008 – Sterling Harris

Special Thanks To Corporate Supporters:

wells-fargo-logo     KQDS     Wipfli logo with CPA tagline - large color jpeg

 Downtown Computer Logo     peace church logo     Cartier_Agency_4c_wTag

Branding Guidelines final 5.30.14